Thursday, May 17, 2012

Buoy sent back to her summer home in Stump Lake

The buoy was re-deployed back to the Stump Lake this morning. It was surprising to find the float which was left in the water was still there after the harsh winter of North Dakota and freezing of the lake. It was a bit breezy, so attaching the anchor to the buoy took some effort. Otherwise, the procedure went smooth. Mr. Mike Ell from ND Department of Health offered the boat by driving from Bismarck.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Buoy retrieved for winter

Special thanks to Chris Pedergast and Clint Streeter from ESSP and Steve and Mike from Lake Region Water Rescue team, who helped to get the buoy back before the lake freezes. It was a perfect day, calm with mild temperature (about 2 Deg C, but this is November in North Dakota). It was the first time for me to sit on an air-boat. It was noisy, but it was easy to reach out.

The buoy was quite dirty with bio-fouling. We will need to clean it. Also, I need to send the GPS unit for calibration. The recorded elevation changes were too high, about 10 m daily.

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Buoy launched to the Stump Lake

The buoy was officially launched to the Stump Lake at 2:40 pm today. With the help from Kate Overmoe, Chris Pendergast, and John Nelson (the boat person), the launch went smooth and measurements started immediately. Here are a few pictures

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Buoy in Devils Lake

Did a site evaluation at the Stump Lake on Aug. 25, 2011. Will deploy the buoy at the Stump Lake, where the natural outlet of the Devils Lake, Tolna Coulee, starts and flows to the Cheyenne River.

Welcome Ms. Jiexia Wu

Ms. Jiexia Wu from China joined our program on Aug. 11, 2011.

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

NDSU field experiment finished on 06/30/2011

The NDSU field experiment finished on 06/30/2011. The project, funded by a NASA EPSCoR grant, was to measure the sensible and latent heat fluxes.

Monday, June 27, 2011

Three students were accepted into M.S. program

Three students were accepted into M.S. program, Mr. Anparasan Mahalingam, Ms. Jiexia Wu and Mr. Yilun Shao. I'm excited of meeting them soon.